Beyond the seiken

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Bill Glasheen

Beyond the seiken

Post by Bill Glasheen »

I first came into martial arts via Nippon Shorin Ken karate. Basically it was a hard, vanilla style of karate with mostly closed-fisted techniques and bread-and-butter kicks. The stances were the traditional zenkutsu, kiba, kokotsu, and nekko ashi dachi. We did a little kata and a lot of sparring.

When I transferred to UVa, it was necessary for me to change styles. My first choice was a similar "vanilla" style, but the teacher couldn't hold a candle to my first Japanese instructor who had the heart of a lion (even if he beat the *&%$ out of us for grins). A half year later I discovered Rad Smith and Uechi ryu. I studied the style not because I thought it was particularly effective. In fact I really didn't like it much. I studied it because Rad was such an incredible practitioner and had a little extra something in his practice that I hadn't seen before. I figured it would eventually rub off.

But it took a long, long, long time. It was too easy for me to revert back to McKarate. Every time I sparred, I just reverted back to the same old stuff that everybody does in the sparring ring. Using sparring as my proving ground didn't really help me learn what was unique about Uechiryu. In fact this is the big reason why I say sparring and competition is great but.... Anyhow that's another discussion.

There are a number of aspects to our system that I consider unique. One is the multitude of unusual weapons that are used. Consider the shoken, the hiraken, the boshiken, the nukite, and the sokusen. No other Okinawan style has these so prominently in the system. These are truly Chinese-style weapons. Consider also the original three kata. There is no seiken fist! None! Nada! Zilch! A whole martial arts system ignores a weapon that the Okinawans consider to be a staple.