sword arts

Bill's forum was the first! All subjects are welcome. Participation by all encouraged.

Moderator: Available

Brian

sword arts

Post by Brian »

Anybody here involved in or interested in Japanese sword arts(Kendo/jutsu,Iai/Batto/do/jutsu)?

Brian
Bill Glasheen

sword arts

Post by Bill Glasheen »

Brian

Bobby Campbell taught basic iaido at a camp years back; it was a highlight to me that year.

One of our kenukai bretheren (John Ray from Texas I believe) taught some very fine seminars at a later camp. Good stuff.

I like to pull my katana out now and then to practice. I'm no expert; I just appreciate the precision of the art.

My first Uechi instructor (the late Rad Smith) collected katana. Yes, he was a Harvard MBA grad and made money at Teradyne, but he also made enough from buying and selling swords to retire young. Good thing - he died at a very young age from ideopathic lung cancer. He got a chance to spend time with his growing kids before the unexpected event. Rena Koopman - wife of Rad Smith and dear friend of mine - collects tsuba (the sword guards). This fits in well with her career as a prominent artist with precious metals. She's still making great things in her Newton, MA studio.

- Bill

[This message has been edited by Bill Glasheen (edited 10-05-99).]
Brian

sword arts

Post by Brian »

Bill,
Yes, I had heard that Ray Sensei had taught at camp a couple of years ago. He is very highly regarded in the Iaido community.
Although I have been studying Iaido for a number of years, I am relatively new to Uechi Ryu(1 1/2 years) and am interested in finding other Uechika with similar interests.
I wasn't aware that Campbell Sensei does Iaido.
I am also looking for people in my area(NH) that might be interested in learning Iaido,and starting a class.

JD,
I would like to hear about your sword(katana),antique, I presume? I have a 300+ year old Settsu Kunisuke. It's a little bit too short for me, but has a beautiful hamon.