The Shinwa Katana and other Blades-121807

JOHN THURSTON is back and eager to discuss Western Martial Arts, especially relating to its history.

Moderator: JOHN THURSTON

JOHN THURSTON

The Shinwa Katana and other Blades-121807

Post by JOHN THURSTON »

Hi:

I am still learning in the general Sword area.

Most of us have a sort of a fixed impression in our minds as to how Katanas are made.

there are many methods of forging a Katana, at least 6, varying with tempering, sandwiching, forging polishing and materials used.

The first, I suppose, is the general 'Sai Gunto" sometimes referred to by me as "Sho Gunto" or "shin gunto".

A rather poor picture of a poorly restored Wartime Machined Katana Machined sword. A machined sword may show a Hamon but will evidence no hand forging marks.

The is the case with all Mushashi and Shinwa blades I have seen, but that does not necessarily mean that you should avoid all of them, it depends on what you want..

I have found that you get pretty much what you pay for.

Wallhangers and light cutting capable are the categories into which most Shinwa and Mushahi may fit.

I cannot find any review on line yet, and it may be that I will do some light cutting testing on my own.(take a pil Hugh :lol: )

Water filled aluminum 'tonic' cans (a New Englandism) will leave some marring on a blade that can be polished out.

Water filled Milk containers will not mar the blade.

It may be ok to polish out marring on a Sai Gunto that has no Hamon, but touching up a scratched hamon line is tricky..

Generally also the Shinwas are Higher priced and somewhat better in quality, but, for the most part, the Mushashi and Shinwa blades are the same.

A Hamon is the line that may evidence that, as to one step in manufacturing, the blade has been clay tempered in the 'maru' fashion.