Chivalry versus Bushido

JOHN THURSTON is back and eager to discuss Western Martial Arts, especially relating to its history.

Moderator: JOHN THURSTON

f.Channell

Chivalry versus Bushido

Post by f.Channell »

I thought it would be an interesting topic to discuss the difference between Chivarlry and Bushido.
Or the multitude of similiarities.

F.
Sans Peur Ne Obliviscaris
www.hinghamkarate.com
Shana Moore

Post by Shana Moore »

I look forward to reading the responses on this interesting topic. Thank you for posting it! I am only beginning to look into Bushido, but I do have more than a passing familiarity with some of the concepts of Chivalry, so I can offer a starting point, if you will:

I understand that both Bushido and Chivalry were mostly unwritten codes of conduct for upper class warriors. I think Chivalric codes had more spoken and written authors, but they rarely agreed on all topics and often had regional differences in conduct and emphasis.

Both Bushido and Chivalry emphasized honour, courage, and some type of code of courtesy/conduct. These aspects of courage/honour/conduct were an essential part of the central foundation of military skill with a variety of weapons. This martial skill included a component of strategy as well as how one treated one's enemies in combat/capture scenarios.

Both, to my understanding, emphasized a loyalty to the concept of Chivalry/Bushido. I think that Chivalry, over time, came to emphasize more of a religious loyalty to king and god than Bushido does to Buddhism and Confucianism or the emperor, but that is mostly supposition on my part. The ritualistic sides of knighthood often emphasized, at least in later times, a duty and service to god. I’d be very interested in those who know more of Bushido’s concepts of loyalty and the focus of that loyalty.