Uechi-Ryu.com

Discussion Area
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Equipment Check
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
Al can probably help me with this:

On the back of the computer you sold me is a card with "DIF" out RCA and and unidentified output plug. Can these outputs be used for video??

If not, do you have any suggestions for an inexpensive way to output video to a camera or VHS external machine.

Best,
George


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 6:01 am
Posts: 1699
Maybe, but I've gone through so many PC cards over the years, I'd need to see the card, or at least know what the card is.

Two things, seeing I'm in this forum for a few moments:

1) Did you receive and/or respond to my pm of several weeks ago?

2) I thought for sure that last night I posted the beginnings of a significant new virus warning post in this particular forum and was going to fill in the blanks over lunch today, but it's nowhere to be found. What's going on?

_________________
Always with an even keel.
-- Allen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Al. . .
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 1:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
The forums are running smoothly.... However, I haven't checked my PM in a couple days. Been out of town...

No documentation of that card.. just a RCA output and a funny little square opening with a red light inside the opening. Has a square plug inserted, which can be pulled out. The only markings is DIF.

_________________
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 6:01 am
Posts: 1699
No, no! Don't pull that little suare plug... Thats where all them bugs, viruses, and minature Trojan Horses sneak in. The red-light gives them the ok by signaling them that the coast is clear.

Any markings on the card? Somehow, sounds like it could be an audio card of sorts.

_________________
Always with an even keel.
-- Allen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 12, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 1688
Location: Weymouth, MA US of A
One way to output video to a video recorder or TV is to install a video card that has a TV-Out feature. Depending on what your video adapter needs are now, you might be able to do it on the cheap. MicroCenter in Cambridge has ATI 7000 video cards w/ TV-Out for $30. They might be a step-up or step-down from the technology you are currently using. Do you know what kind of video card you are using now?

Otherwise, I dunno....

Gene


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks Gene
PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 10:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
That card should do. Currently, I just have a regular video card.... no outputs.

_________________
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 12, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 1688
Location: Weymouth, MA US of A
GEM,

Okay, I did some checking and I think I may have mistaken as to whether the card has a TV-Out feature or not. I was just there yesterday, and I could swear the box said "TV-Out". But I just checked the Microcenter website, and they make no mention of the card having that feature.

I have to go there on Tuesday, and I'll look at it again. If it's TV-Out, I'll get one for you. If not, I'll look at other options for you and report back.

Gene


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Svidio out
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 1:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
I'm not so interested in TV out, which I would image is a cable connection. Rather, an "S" Video (Out) connection is the best. RCA cables are OK, but the quality output is not as good as Svideo.

Best,
George


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 12, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 1688
Location: Weymouth, MA US of A
I just got back from Cambridge, and work just called and offered a few hours of easy OT.....

The ATI 7000 card has outputs for VGA, DVI and and RCA jack for TV-OUT. Sigh. The card is yours, GEM, and I can drop it off any time this week. Or I can return it if you'd like something else. No problem at all.

If you decide to go with an S-Video card, they appear to be more expensive. Not so much b/c of the different jack but becasue they are more advanced technology and are of better quality and have more memory, etc. Say in $90+ range. Some of those are on sale as well.

Hope this helps....

Gene


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
I'll have a look to see if it will output video.

Thanks for your help.

George

_________________
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2004 1:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 6:01 am
Posts: 1699
Hmmm...

A card or a little attachment that plugs into the motherboard?

_________________
Always with an even keel.
-- Allen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 12:58 pm 
It's an optical input. sweet!


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Hi Tony..
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 1:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 16, 1998 6:01 am
Posts: 6020
Location: Mount Dora, Florida
Good to hear from you again....

Hope all is going well. We missed you at Winterfest this year.

Sorry for being so dumb, but what kind of "optical devise" can be plugged in? I have an little camera already installed, but it used a USB connection.

_________________
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: TONY
PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2004 3:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 1999 6:01 am
Posts: 30346
Good to see you back on the forums.

How are things in the "warm room"? :wink:

_________________
Van


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group