NT administration

This forum is for the discussion of technology, computers, & problems relating to the web and your computer

Moderator: Scott Danziger

Kevin Mackie

NT administration

Post by Kevin Mackie »

techies.. what's the issue with allowing (or not) desktop users of an NT workstation administrator priviledges? I ask because our company is going 100% NT this year and it sounds like the IT dept. Wants to control it for job security. Need a printer installed? Call IT. Need your date and time corrected? Call IT.

I say let the users have the control but have the usual rules about don't install non company SW, don't download stuff etc..

Any REAL harm in letting users have priviledges?

Kevin
Shelly King

NT administration

Post by Shelly King »

Hi Kevin

I'm not a techie but our company started switching over to NT this year. Nothing but problems. Our tech support isn't even located in the same state...anytime we have problems we have to call Baltimore for support and installation of everything. Took 2 weeks to get an address for a new printer. It really bites when we go down late afternoon and they've all already gone home.

------------------
Shelly
Allen M.

NT administration

Post by Allen M. »

Hello Kevin,

Whenever I go into a company, sometimes 2 or three a year, I face the same issues as you, ALL THE TIME. Seems like it’s US against IS, but that, of course, is an incorrect perception.

The IT (or IS,) bunch are a wonderful group of people, but usually there are too few of them in any given company, and they are most always asked to do too much in too short a time. IT likes to be in control and often sets up security too tight for software developers. I have my own methods of getting a PC properly set up, and always get results fast!

There is NO REAL harm with software developers having administration priviliges, fact I won’t touch a keyboard unless I have the full access to everything.