Sword fighting

Lots of interest in this subject and much to learn. Where to train - Whats legal in your state - Where to get information!
Blade

Sword fighting

Post by Blade »

I'm a novice martial arts exponent and I'm learning hand and leg techniques so I am knowledgeable enough to learn a weapon. Particularly the sword. I'm interested to know the different styles of sword fighting there are. All I know is the Chinese Tai chi that I heard to be focused on dexterity and adaptable to to any situation. The Japanese style in regards to samurai that focus on speed, power and execution. I would like some opinions and comparisons of the styles because it will help me make a decision to choose the style I will study. But I know there are a lot of practioners out there that are biased and therefore will give me an inaccurate opinion. I feel if someone is to give a weakness of a style at least say a strength of it. Your help is much appreciated to me.

Kind regards,

Blade
BRAM

Sword fighting

Post by BRAM »

I'm not sure that I'm the expert to talk to ROFL...
Filipino arts are "bastardised" old style Spanish sword fighting..with regional elements thrown in. ( I say that with the highest respect..I teach and study these arts!)
Filipino Martial Arts are one way to learn Sword arts that you can actually apply or translate into today's selfdefense situations...
I think if I was going to concentrate on Sword ..as a sword based art, I'd go find one of those groups that teaches Medieval or Renaissance Sword work..and I'd personally concentrate on Sword and Dagger work..
John Clements has two fantastic books on both ways of Sword combat published by PALADIN Press...www.paladin-press.com
I think he teaches a bit @ the Historical Armed Combat Association in Houston Texas..
Paladin Press also has newly translated texts with the original drawings ( no photos in use back then!LOL) on the use of Swords from the Medieval & Early Elizabethan periods...