One tough woman. . .

A place to share ideas, concerns, questions, and thoughts about women and the martial arts.

Moderator: Available

gmattson
Site Admin

One tough woman. . .

Post by gmattson »

Found this clip taken at the "Hut" and thought you might enjoy it. Pat Saunders, who owns and operates the "Stow Martial Arts Center" demonstrates a keen understanding of body dynamics in this slow motion video clip of her very powerful Sanchin.

http://uechi-ryu.com/videos/pat_saunders_1.wmv
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"
chewy

great video!

Post by chewy »

I'm a student of Saunders Sensei at Stow-MAC and am constantly amazed by her power and balance. I easily outweight her by 2x, but she can cause me to lose my center almost effortlessly.

Unfortunatelyy, Sensei Saunders doesn't get to demonstrate a full kata to us very often (she is too busy helping all of us make ours stonger), but when she does it is truley a treat! I also want to throw a nod to Sensei Saunder's instructor (Sensei Fedele Cacia); his kata also incredible to watch.

cheers,

chewy
Bill Glasheen

Post by Bill Glasheen »

Watch the hips! 8) Had I not already worked with some of Nakamatsu's methods, I wouldn't be able to see all the subtleties.

Dana will love this.

- Bill
chef

What power!

Post by chef »

That was also the first thing I noticed was how she used her hips in everything....watch her belt move as she executes each move. Talk about shades of Dana.

I wonder if it is easier for women to accomplish that hip action, given that we have a lower center of gravity and proportionately wider hips for our size than men.

Regards,
Vicki
"Cry in the dojo, laugh in the battlefield"
Rick Wilson

Post by Rick Wilson »

George, this is a great Kata. :D

Do you have a clip at regular speed it would be a joy to watch?
Bill Glasheen

Post by Bill Glasheen »