san vs chan

A place to share ideas, concerns, questions, and thoughts about women and the martial arts.

Moderator: Available

Raffi Derderian

san vs chan

Post by Raffi Derderian »

Hi everyone,
I know this is really not martial arts related. However, I have to ask for a little clarification of the san and chan thing.
I believe this was covered a while back and if I recall, isn't the term "chan" only used for little children (girls?) or for a female that you are particularly close to. Again, I could be wrong. The old memory ain't what it used to be. But if I am correct, shouldn't the male members of this site NOT refer to any of the females with the "chan" suffix? To me it seems almost disrespectful.
Raf
maurice richard libby

san vs chan

Post by maurice richard libby »

Raffi,

I'm no expert, but from the old days when I studied Japanese culture and language at the university, you're closer to right than wrong. "Chan" applied to an adult is a term of endearment and intimacy. When I used to hang out with a crowd of Japanese students. I was quite hesitant to use "chan". In fact, there were only two women I ever had the courage to useit with, and I had a terrific crush on one Image.

The rule of thumb: use "chan" only if you would be comfortable calling that person by a pet name or diminuative.

There are those who have more expertise, but that's my take.

with respect,
maurice

------------------
maurice richard libby
toronto/moose jaw
Ronin at large

[This message has been edited by maurice richard libby (edited February 11, 2000).]
Shelly King

san vs chan

Post by Shelly King »

that's very interesting guys...I never knew the difference. Actually, I assumed that the chan was perhaps the Korean or Chinese equivalent to san. Boy, you learn something knew everyday. Though, I do have the vague memory of reading somewhere that in Japan the men and women actually had two different languages that they used. Any truth to this?

------------------
Shelly
Lori