Novice

A place to share ideas, concerns, questions, and thoughts about women and the martial arts.

Moderator: Available

annevi_lem

Novice

Post by annevi_lem »

I am new to Tae Kwon Do. I have taken 2 private lessons and have signed up for 1 year of study. I am very nervous about going to my first group lesson. I am out of shape (I had my first child last August and gained 50 pounds). Will I be able to keep up? Also, is Tae Kwon Do good for losing weight? The woman I signed up with assured me of both things, but any words of encouragement would help a lot! Has anyone been in the same situation that has a sucess story to share?
Thanks,
Annie
Lori

Novice

Post by Lori »

Annie,

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on taking the "big step" into martial arts! I have no doubt that you will find much of what you are looking for - and probably many things you didn't expect to find along the way!

First of all, on being able to "keep up":

If you have observed some of the classes at your school, you've probably seen students at varying levels - and the more advanced students are the ones that will hold your attention, and as you watch them you will wonder how in the world will you ever be able to get to that level, and, fears will probably surface about being able to hold your own in a class where everyone else seems to be doing great already. One thing to remember is that every single one of those students who looks like they know what they are doing, felt as you do right now when they were beginners. The advanced students are where they are now because they kept practicing even when they felt like the road ahead was way too long! I've seen beginners with many challenges, over weight, physical challenges, kids with emotional challenges, adults starting for the first time quite late in life, you name it. The study of martial arts can offer many rewards to everyone, if they want it bad enough and are willing to pay the price in dedication and hard work.