Legal and Moral Responsibilities (For Lori)

A place to share ideas, concerns, questions, and thoughts about women and the martial arts.

Moderator: Available

Rick Wilson

Legal and Moral Responsibilities (For Lori)

Post by Rick Wilson »

Legal and Moral Responsibilities

Compiled

By

Rick Wilson

This section will deal with that actual use of force and what ramifications it may have for you in the aftermath. There are three distinct areas that will be covered Legal Responsibilities and Moral Responsibilities, and what to do after a violent incident occurs.

Legal Responsibilities

As I am based in Canada that will be my focus as to actual laws. If you will be in the USA or another country you should check out their laws first.

I will state my interpretation of the law and then quote the section of the Criminal Code that is applicable. I am not a lawyer, but do interpret law in my daily work. The laws are clear in their intent. However, I cannot say that I am as familiar with courts interpretations. I am often surprised by them.

The issue of provocation will be talked about, therefore here is what the Canadian Criminal Code considers provocation:

"PROVOCATION.
36. Provocation includes, for the purposes of sections 34 and 35 , provocation by blows, words or gestures. [R.S. c.C-34, s.36.]"

Basic Principle:

I think that this is a Basic Principle in most places: You may only use a reasonable amount of force and refrain from using excessive force.

"PREVENTING ASSAULT
... / Extent of justification.
37. (1) Every one is justified in using force to defend himself or any one under his protection from assault, if he uses no more force than is necessary to prevent the assault or the repetition of it.
(2) Nothing in this section shall be deemed to justify the wilful infliction of any hurt or mischief that is excessive, having regard to the nature of the assault that the force used was intended to prevent. [R.S. c.C-34, s.37.]"