Teaching Women

A place to share ideas, concerns, questions, and thoughts about women and the martial arts.

Moderator: Available

Dennis Smith

Teaching Women

Post by Dennis Smith »

I'm new to the forum and was interested in the title of this group. I am a staff instructor at a Kung Fu School in Vermont and have responsibilities for one of the Beginner classes. I have had women students in my classes, some of which have not continued, others who have moved on the the Intermediate classes and continue to train at the school. I would be interested in a woman's perspective of how they felt when they began training. What were the pitfalls, obstacles and trials they felt they encountered and how these may or may not have differed from those of males students.

I would like to be a better teacher to all my students.

Dennis
RA Miller

Teaching Women

Post by RA Miller »

http://www.peak.org/~grainne/Ironrose/lizard.html

Duchess Elena said it very well.

Rory
Mary S

Teaching Women

Post by Mary S »

Rory....AWESOME article!!! Thanks. Positive reinforcement from instructors AND fellow students can really help to clear those hurdles.
student

Teaching Women

Post by student »

Dennis:

I suspect you might also find some useful information for your topic the archive of this Forum. although I can't guarantee it.

student
Dennis Smith

Teaching Women

Post by Dennis Smith »

Thank you for the article. I've downloaded it and will read it more carefully. I'll also check the archives.

Thank you all for your responses.

Dennis
Jackie Olsen

Teaching Women

Post by Jackie Olsen »

Hi Dennis,