Mike Hosea

New members and old members are invited to introduce (or re-introduce) themselves to the community.

Moderator: Available

mhosea

Mike Hosea

Post by mhosea »

Well, I guess I might as well post an introduction.

I started studying Matsubayashi-Ryu (Shorin-Ryu) karate as a child, I guess about 8 or 9 years of age under Richard Lohrding in Panama City, Florida. Just before that I'd had a little run-in with another kid who sort of tried to mug me. I knew I had the size and strength to take him, but I lacked the confidence and know-how. After several years of training I tested for shodan (at age 16 or 17) but did not pass. Examinations were formal and rigorous, so I wasn't particularly surprised, or even particularly disappointed, as I recall. However, my teenage mind being the steel trap that it was, I decided that there were too many activities that competed for my time, and I should drop karate in favor of other activities. That was about 25 years ago. The only thing I've done consistently since then is weightlifting.

I live in Natick, Massachusetts now, so training with my old sensei and friends is not an option. Nevertheless, I revived my study of Matsubayashi Ryu several months ago and began trying to get back into shape for the kind of karate workouts that I remembered (intense workouts). After some soul searching about whether to travel a long distance for formal Matsubayashi training or to start over in another martial art closer to my home, I researched Uechi Ryu and visited Fedele Cacia's dojo at Gold's Gym here in Natick. I pretty much immediately decided to study Uechi Ryu under Sensei Cacia. This is where I am today.
Mike
gmattson
Site Admin

Welcome aboard Mike

Post by gmattson »

You certainly made a smart decision working out with Fedele. Good luck with your training and thanks for the formal introduction.
GEM
"Do or do not. there is no try!"
Willy

oki doki

Post by Willy »

:lol: