Konichiwa

New members and old members are invited to introduce (or re-introduce) themselves to the community.

Moderator: Available

David the Gnome

Konichiwa

Post by David the Gnome »

I'd like to introduce myself and tell my martial arts story as it were. It may be a bit long but it feels good to tell the story.

My name is David, I'm a student at the University of Kentucky and I've been a practitioner of martial arts since I was 13 years old (I am currently 21). I started in Shaolin-Do when I was in grade school. My best friend's father was a 5th degree black belt who studied under Grand Master Sin Kwang The. He owned a local school so it was natural for me to begin my training with him. I unfortunately had to leave the school when I was 17 because of a rather messy divorce between my master and his wife. Because I was his son's best friend he was trying to use me as a way to get to his son. I achieved the rank of 3rd degree brown belt before I had no choice but to remove myself from the situation.

Shortly before this occurred my aunt and uncle came to stay with us for a few months. My uncle got a new job that required him to relocate and since they didn't have a house yet they stayed with us until they could get one. My uncle is a 5th degree black belt in Uechi-ryu. I had never realised the amazing resource I had at my fingertips until it was too late.

My uncle and I had talked about doing some training the whole time he was staying with us, but at that time I was so into Shaolin-Do that I didn't want to bother with another style. I didn't realise the opportunity I was passing up until long after. I did a lesson with my uncle right before they moved into their new home (1.5 hours away), but I didn't fully appreciate the style at first. It was too different from the chinese style I already knew. It was when I moved away to college that I finally realised the golden opportunity that had slipped between my fingers.